TL;DR
Get furniture and decor delivered free with Prime
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
- Member-only deals all year
Amazon announced the Ring Smart Lock, a $249 lock that can generate enough emergency power to unlock the door when its rechargeable battery is dead by turning its thumb-turn dial. The U.S. launch is planned for early 2027, pending FCC approval; Amazon has not said how many turns are needed or specified other key launch details.
Amazon has announced the Ring Smart Lock, its first smart lock, with a built-in way to generate emergency power: turn the lock’s thumb-turn dial if its rechargeable battery dies. Amazon says a few turns can generate enough power to unlock the door, addressing a common concern with keyless locks: being unable to enter when the battery is depleted.
The lock is expected to go on sale in the United States in early 2027, pending approval from the Federal Communications Commission, for $249. It is planned in black, silver and brass finishes. Amazon has not specified how many turns are required to produce enough power for an unlock; its description says only that “a few times” should be enough. The dial is also intended to let users fully recharge the battery, though the announcement does not detail how long that would take.
Other access options include a fingerprint reader and a backlit touchscreen keypad. Owners will be able to register multiple users and schedule access, including temporary codes that expire after a set period. The lock can also be controlled or monitored through the Ring app and operated with voice commands on Alexa-compatible devices, according to Amazon.
The lock uses Ring’s replaceable Quick Release Ultra Battery Pack and does not require wiring, the company says. Rather than connect directly to home Wi-Fi, it communicates over Amazon’s Sidewalk network, a low-power, long-range system. Remote controls and alerts will depend on adequate Sidewalk coverage where the lock is installed. The device has no camera, so it cannot show owners who is at the door; Amazon suggests pairing it with a Ring doorbell or security camera.
Emergency Access Without a Backup Key
The dial-based charging feature targets one of the practical risks of a battery-powered lock: a depleted battery can cut off electronic access at the moment a resident needs to get inside. Amazon’s approach makes the lock itself the emergency power source, rather than requiring a separate 9-volt battery or access to a charging port, methods used by some other smart locks, according to The Verge’s report.
That convenience comes with limits. Amazon has not disclosed the number of turns, the time or effort needed, or how much energy the mechanism stores. The lock’s remote features also rely on Sidewalk coverage, while the device itself cannot provide a visual check of visitors. For buyers, the announcement describes an alternative to conventional emergency-entry methods, but the real-world usefulness will be clearer when product specifications and independent testing are available.
Ring Smart Lock emergency power dial
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Ring’s Lock Joins a Camera Push
The smart lock was announced alongside a broader Ring camera expansion. Amazon is also introducing several cameras with its “Retinal Vision 4K” branding, including an Indoor Cam 4K priced at $99.99 and available immediately, according to the report. The indoor model has a 115-degree field of view and a physical shutter that blocks the camera when closed.
Other announced products include the Outdoor Cam 4K Plus at $149.99, the Spotlight Cam 4K Plus at $199.99 and the Floodlight Cam 4K Plus at $219.99. The report says preorders for those three models begin immediately. Amazon also announced a $69.99 Pan-Tilt Indoor Cam 2K, with a 360-degree rotation range, 175-degree tilt and a physical shutter that disables both its camera and microphone. These products provide possible camera pairings for the lock, but are separate devices with their own prices and availability.
smart lock with rechargeable battery backup
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Power, Coverage and Approval Details
Several practical details remain unconfirmed. Amazon has not said exactly how many dial turns are needed, how much effort they require, how quickly the battery can be recharged this way, or how the mechanism performs after repeated use. The announcement also does not give a specific launch date beyond early 2027.
The U.S. availability plan is subject to FCC approval. Sidewalk coverage will vary by location, and the source does not specify what functions remain available if a lock cannot connect to that network. The report does not provide details on compatibility with existing door hardware, security testing or a complete list of supported regions.
keyless smart lock with fingerprint and keypad
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Awaiting Approval and Product Testing
The next stated milestone is the planned early 2027 U.S. release, provided the lock receives FCC approval. Amazon has not announced a firm date. Further product information will be needed to answer questions about emergency charging, installation compatibility and Sidewalk coverage.
Independent hands-on testing after the lock becomes available can establish how reliably the dial generates emergency power and how its access controls work in everyday use. Until then, Amazon’s statements describe the feature and planned specifications, rather than verified performance results.
Ring Smart Lock replacement battery pack
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Key Questions
How does the Ring Smart Lock work if its battery dies?
Amazon says users can turn the thumb-turn dial to generate enough emergency power to unlock the door. It has not specified the exact number of turns.
When will the Ring Smart Lock be available, and how much will it cost?
Amazon expects the lock to reach the U.S. market in early 2027, pending FCC approval. Its announced price is $249.
Can the lock connect over home Wi-Fi?
The announcement says the lock uses Amazon Sidewalk rather than connecting directly to home Wi-Fi. Remote access and alerts depend on adequate Sidewalk coverage.
Does the Ring Smart Lock include a camera?
No. The lock does not include a camera. Amazon says it can be paired with a Ring doorbell or security camera for video at the entrance.
Source: rss
Columbus Day / Indigenous Peoples' Day Picks
long weekend sales
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
